I’m not dead…

August 16, 2006 at 7:11 pm (Uncategorized)

I know that it’s been an incredibly long time since my last post, but I’ve been busy lately with work, and going on one of my yearly camping trips last week (yearly camping trip #2 is set for September and I can’t wait!).

It seems all too appropriate that on the day I decide to get back on the blogging horse, Mike Driehorst of Mike’s Points writes about juggling the responsibilities of a blog with your professional and personal life. It made me reiterate again to myself exactly why I decided to start blogging in the first place.

I may not post with regularity, and I may not have any profound insight to contribute to the conversation yet. In fact, after such a long absence from the blogosphere my handful of readers may have disappeared into the vapor. (If you haven’t, let me know!)

However, I ultimately started this blog as a learning experience, for practicing my writing skills as well as to learn from those practitioners who dispense PR wisdom through blogging. I have learned so much so quickly since that start that it boggles my mind.

For those of you that still read, thank you, and I hope to be more consistent in posting from now on. If no one reads, well, I’m still learning. And that is what’s important.

4 Comments

  1. Eric said,

    I’m still reading. 🙂 I’ve had a bit of a blog drought, myself, and hope to pick it up a lot as autumn draws near.

    Keep posting, I’ll be reading!

  2. Michael Morton said,

    I’m still a loyal subscriber to your feed Marie!

    I also find that you have great insight!

  3. Richard Bailey said,

    I don’t think anyone should apologise for taking a vacation or for finding work or life more compelling than blogging.

    Though we talk of subscribers, we’re in truth amateurs. Since no one is paying we’re under no obligation, say, to produce a daily newspaper or a weekly magazine.

    Besides, there’s so much noise and chatter going on out there that there’s a virtue in knowing when to keep quiet.

  4. Michael said,

    Marie,
    First, a belated thanks for the link, and apologies as I think Technorati just this weekend included it in the links to my li’l piece of the blogosphere.

    As you and others have said, keep blogging — when it’s best for you. I’ve found that I’ve been able to solidify thoughts and ideas better by blogging about them. And, I’ve looked at other posts and issues with a more critical, or thought-provoking eye.

    While we all like to be linked to and like to see our traffic rise, the ultimate benefit is for our own professional skills. (Though, granted, if no one read our blogs, how much longer would we really blog?)
    Have fun camping!
    Mike

Leave a Reply

