Flackette emerges from the dark void of non-blogging

February 9, 2007 at 6:55 am (SHIFT)

Has it really been over five months since I last blogged? I can only hang my head in shame at my unexplained departure from the blogosphere. I do have a good reason for my absence though, honest!

In big news that I should have blogged about three months ago when it was breaking, I switched jobs in November of last year to work for social media paragon SHIFT Communications in the consumer lifestyle division. My high level of respect for Todd Defren of PR Squared and SHIFT’s social media prowess were both instrumental in my decision to join the agency.

Earlier this week was my three-month anniversary at SHIFT, which seems an appropriate milestone for diving back into blogging, don’t you think? I’ve lost touch with much of the PR blogosphere (I don’t even dare look at my Google reader which is no doubt burgeoning with four-plus months of backed-up RSS feeds), but I’m looking forward to getting back into the swing of things.

Pre-SHIFT, I worked at a smaller agency where I learned a great deal and had the pleasure of working with people I respect and admire. However, I must admit that one of the main reasons I started blogging while there (a year ago last month, in fact) was because I was thirsty for something more mentally stimulating (entry level work, as many of you know, is often largely administrative and rarely strategic). Blogging helped me grow immensely and shaped me into a better PR professional. In many ways I was able to supplement my work experience by being part of PR’s blogging community and gleaning knowledge from some of the best in the biz (Shel, Todd, Kami, and so many others).

Once I started at SHIFT and moved onward and upward in my career track, it honestly became difficult to find the mental energy to blog. When you combine high-volume consumer clients with a 2 hour per day total commute, plus the fact that I often work late depending on whatโ€™s going on at the time, blogging quickly gets shoved to the wayside. (Not that I’m complaining because I absolutely adore, love, and relish working at SHIFT!).

Moving forward career-wise has sucked from me of the majority of my brain power lately, making it difficult to scrape together any smidgen of energy for blogging. Until now. I feel as though my brain is finally catching up to the high-altitude bar of excellence that SHIFT sets for me every day, which means I am starting to feel the energy to blog returning to me, ever so slowly, but returning nonetheless. I canโ€™t tell you enough how much my fingers have itched to get on my computer and write for the darling little blog that catapulted me to where I am today.

And with that, I finish my first blog post in what seems like a decade’s absence. Life is grand. Tomorrow is Friday. As of last night, “Lost” has finally returned to Prime Time. And it feels so right to be blogging again. Let’s hope I can keep up the pace.

Yours Truly,
Flackette

P.S. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s reveal of my blogging challenge with friend and fellow colleage, adorkable grrl.

9 Comments

  1. Paull Young said,

    Welcome back Marie! You’ve been missed.

  2. Michael said,

    Marie,
    Welcome back, and definitely congrats on the new gig at SHIFT. (You’ll have to give those of us who have not met Todd a bit of inside scoop!)

    Take care,
    Mike

  3. Eric said,

    Welcome back! I knew there was a reason I kept you in my feed reader… ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. PR-Guy said,

    Welcome back to the blogosphere, Marie. (And welcome to SHIFT!) ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Michael Morton said,

    Well it’s about time! I kept returning to your blog hoping to see an update but always left disappointed. Then I get the surprise of the day (thanks to Todd Defren’s blog).

    It’s good to hear from you once again Marie! Let’s do some stylish blogging, eh?

  6. Michael Morton said,

    Well it’s about time! I kept returning to your blog hoping to see an update but always left disappointed. Then I get the surprise of the day (thanks to Todd Defren’s blog).

    It’s good to hear from you once again Marie! Let’s do some stylish blogging, eh?

  7. Kami Huyse, APR said,

    Very cool that you are back for more. But I think I totally understand what you mean. I have felt that way lately myself ๐Ÿ™‚ How fun it would be to work at SHIFT, I know you will be a star there.

  8. Kami Huyse said,

    So happy that you are back in the saddle, though I can completely sympathize with being over busy.

  9. Flackette said,

    Thank you all for such a warm welcome back to the blogosphere! I am so excited to be back. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

