Um…what’s relaxation?

February 16, 2007 at 6:58 pm (Uncategorized)

Once again, my blogging challenge with adorkable grrl sets the wheels in motion so that Flackette continues to blog, even despite her busy schedule (I know, I know, no excuses!).

This week, the topic is relaxation. I know from reading books on time management and performance that relaxation is extremely important, both to mental health and work performance. In fact, in one my favorite books of that sort, The Now Habit by Neil Fiore, it was said that in contrast to procrastinators, good performers work less hours, take more vacations, and are less stressed than those who work ungodly hours and skip vacation time to keep working. How’s that for incentive to take regular doses of relaxation!

In another sense of the word relaxation, I think that it is important that every PR person have a relaxed outlook when it comes to their job. By relaxed I don’t mean lax, shoddy, or unstructured, but rather I am referring to one’s general attitude about life and PR. The best PR people I’ve ever met are cool-headed, always kind, slow to anger, and hard to fluster. If you are a high strung person, PR is probably not be for you. The best of the best have a way of rolling with the punches and being flexible in almost any situation, in other words: relaxed.

In the personal sense of the word, there are many things I find to be extremely relaxing:

  • Spending time with my dearest friends
  • Lazing around, watching TV, and napping
  • Pedicures, manicures, and any other form of pampering
  • A hot cup of herbal tea
  • Watching a beautiful sunset

Since this is a holiday weekend for some of us (myself included) I plan on doing at least a few of the above to recoup and relax from what has been a crazy week.

Happy Friday to all!

Cheers,

Flackette

P.S. Can I just say I am having way too much fun with Blogger’s new tagging widget?

5 Comments

  1. Julie Crabill said,

    Some additional relaxation activity food for thought for this weekend:
    ** Catching up on Grey’s Anatomy episodes
    ** Drinking really good wine until it doesn’t matter how good it is anymore
    ** Walking deftly passed all of the foolish people sitting in their cars trying to get on the Bay Bridge

    Have a nice weekend, Flackette!

  2. Katie said,

    Have a wonderful, relaxing weekend dear MW… 😉

    See you Tuesday!

  3. Anonymous said,

    Hi Flackette-

    Thanks for the work/life balance reality check. I truly believe those people who are the most successful in their personal and professional life work to live and don’t live to work.

    KC

  4. Claire said,

    Amen to your post. Life is much to short to be all upset about stuff! A pedicure works absolute wonders for me.

  5. Katie said,

    GIRLFRIEND!
    You need to get back into the bloggosphere…. I know you’re busy being super social PR girl about town, but… REALLY!

    ;P

Leave a Reply

